• The Entrance to the Admin Block

The Department was established along with the Institution in the year 1963. The academic activities of the department are teaching, research and conducting workshops, seminars, guest lectures…. form the resource full persons from other research centers. The department of Physics has been recognized as a research center of Visvesvaraya Technological University (VTU) – Belagavi & J.S.S. Science & Technology University (JSSS&T) – Mysuru.

The Department imparts education in Basic Science both in theory and through experiments. The objective is to create the basic firm foundation required by the engineers to plan for appropriate applications of the materials, objects and the material science studied under the science education which in turn provides them the tool for the choice of the proper plan for the right application. The Department is located in the Administrative block of the college. The Department cum Lab is in the first floor of the AB-block ; and the lab is spreading over an area of 40×70 ft., where nearly 40 students can perform experiments at a time. Now an additional lab with area 20×20 ft., is also in use. The Department conducts ‘Engineering Physics’ (PH110, PH120 & PH210) and ‘Engineering Physics Lab’ (PH12L & PH22L) for the first year students of all branches of Engineering, which provides the basic foundations about the principles and conceptual ideas of Science behind the Engineering & Technology. The Department offers electives such as ‘Fiber Optic Communication Systems’ (PH510) for the 5th semester B.E. students of all branches except Electronics & Communication Engineering and & ‘Elements of Nano Technology’ (PH610) , ‘Solid State Electronics Devices’ (PH620) for the 6th semester students of all branches.